National Flag Of Costa Rica

In 1848, The First Lady Pacifica Fernandez Oreamuno designed the first National Flag Of Costa Rica Inspired by the French Revolution. The Current Flag Of Costa Rica Is Based On The 1848 Flag And Officially Adopted On 27 November 1906. Costa Rica actually has two different types of flags, and both of them are official. The first one is called the “Bandera Nacional,” and it’s a simple version with blue, white and red stripes only. The “Bandera Nacional” is used during festivals and public celebrations.

The Second Costa Rica National Flag is called the “Pabellón Nacional,” and it proudly shows off the Costa Rican coat of arms. This version shows up in front of government buildings and pretty much everywhere else. The national shield also contains specific details that represent important parts of our history.



The National Flag Of Costa Rica displays five horizontal stripes: a red stripe located in the center; two white stripes placed above and below the red stripe; and two blue stripes at the top and bottom. The width of each white and blue stripe is 1/6 of the total width of the flag, while the red stripe is double the size at 2/6 the total width. Costa Rica’s national coat of arms is placed on a white disk and featured on the hoist edge of the red band. Inspired by the French Revolution, Oreamuno modeled the Costa Rica National Flag after those ideals – freedom, equality, and brotherhood. Those are the same colors as the French national flag: red, white and blue.



Each color on the Flag Of Costa Rica is a representation of Costa Rican ideals. These colors were present ever since the first official Costa Rica flag was made in 1848.

Red: Red represents the love, generosity, and warmth of our people. It also stands for the blood of Costa Ricans who died defending our country.

White: It has quite an important meaning since this color represents the peace that reigns in Costa Rica. It is also attributed to the representation of one of the most stable and perfect democracies that currently exist in the world.

Blue: Blue has a special representation. The color itself speaks of the richness of the oceans that border the country and, similarly, the Costa Rican sky.

Coat of Arms: The National Shield on the Flag Of Costa Rica displays three volcanoes and the green valley in between. Costa Rica has three main volcanic mountain ranges, Irazú, Poás and Arenal, and a lush area called the Central Valley. The shield also shows two coasts, and they stand for the Pacific beaches and Caribbean shores of Costa Rica. Experts think that the mountains, oceans, and coasts also stand for Costa Rica’s reputation for sharing commerce and cultural ideas with other countries. The rising sun on the left side represents the economic prosperity of our country.

The Seven Stars on the National Flag Of Costa Rica stand for seven provinces: San José, Alajuela, Cartago, Heredia, Guanacaste, Puntarenas y Limón. The gold circles on the left and right of the flag represent coffee, which is a huge part of Costa Rican culture. Above the shield, there are two green branches that represent the peaceful attitude of Costa Rica’s people and government. On the Costa Rica National Flag, The white banner right below the branches reads “República de Costa Rica,” or the Republic of Costa Rica, and a blue banner above has the words “America Central.” These phrases are important because they’ve been the Costa Rica flag ever since Costa Rican people formed their very own country.


Some Information About Flag:

In Which Year, The National Flag is Adopted?
Ans: On 27 November 1906

What Are The Colours of The Flag?
Ans: Blue, White, Red

What Do the Blue Colours of The Flag Means?
Ans: Blue color speaks of the richness of the oceans that border the country and, similarly, the Costa Rican sky.

Who Is The Designer of The Flag?
Ans: First Lady Pacifica Fernandez

Exit mobile version