National Flag Of Tuvalu

The Current National Flag Of Tuvalu was Officially Adopted On 11 April 1997 when the country became independent after the separation from the Gilbert and Ellice Islands. The Tuvalu National Flag is light blue with the flag of the United Kingdom in the upper hoist-side quadrant.

The outer half of the flag contains nine yellow five-pointed stars represents a map of the country with symbolizing the nine islands. The Union Jack on the Flag Of Tuvalu reflects Tuvalu’s long association with Great Britain and other Commonwealth members.

The nine yellow five-pointed stars on the National Flag Of Tuvalu are symbolic of the nine islands within its borders: Funafuti, Nanumea, Nui, Nukufetau, Nukulaelae, Vaitupu, Nanumanga, Niulakita, and Niutao.


Origin Of The Flag

The British colony of the Gilbert and Ellice Islands was divided in 1975. The Melanesians dominating the Gilbert Islands which is Now Kiribati and the Polynesians On the Ellice Islands (now Tuvalu) preferred to have separate states. On the third anniversary of separation from the Gilberts On October 1, 1978, Tuvalu became independent under a new Flag Of Tuvalu. The flag Designed by Vione Natano.

The name “Tuvalu” means “eight together”, referring to the eight islands of Tuvalu. One of the stars on the flag was removed to conform with the country’s name. In 1995, advocates of a republican form of government were successful in introducing a new Tuvalu National Flag from which the Union Jack was omitted. However, the people of the country protested against the removal and regain the previous version of the flag.


Some Information About Flag:

In Which Year, The National Flag Was Adopted?
Ans: On 11 April 1997

What Are The Colours of The Flag?
Ans: Light Blue, Yellow, Red

Who Is The Designer of The Flag?
Ans: Vione Natano

Exit mobile version