Map of India | Physical Map of India

A Physical Map of India shows all the physical divisions of the seventh-largest country in the world. The country is slightly more than one-third of the size of the United States. The Map of India changed on October 31, 2019. The new map of India depicts 28 states, 8 Union Territories that include the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

There were 28 states and 9 Union Territories in India in December 2019. But, currently, there are 8 UTs in India. President gave his assent for the merger of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli but it became a new UT on 26th January 2020. One state- Jammu and Kashmir- was removed from the state category and divided into two UTs- J&K and Ladakh on 31st October 2019.

India Map Facts

Physical Map of India

There are 25 High Courts and 1 Supreme Court in India. All the 28 states have a Legislative Assembly. 6 states (UP, Bihar, Maharashtra, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh & Karnataka) have Legislative Council as well. 3 UTs have elected Legislative Assembly- J&K, Delhi, and Puducherry.

The architects of India’s constitution, though drawing on many external sources, were most heavily influenced by the British model of parliamentary democracy. The government is a federal republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister.

✅What are Physical Features of India?

The physical features of India can be divided into six categories, depending on their geological features: The Himalayan Mountains. The Northern Plains. Indian Desert.

✅How many Rivers are in India?

There are 8 major river systems in India, with more than 400 rivers in total. Rivers play an important role in the lives of the Indian people.

Exit mobile version