Political Map of Luxembourg | Political Border Map

Luxembourg is a small landlocked country in western Europe. The Country has a population of under half a million people in an area of about 2,600 square kilometers (997 sq mi). Luxembourg lies in the cultural divide between Romance Europe and Germanic Europe. The Country borrowing customs from each of the distinct traditions.

While French and Luxembourgish are the predominant languages in daily life and on the streets, Luxembourg remains a trilingual country; French, German, and Luxembourgish are official languages. Although a secular state, Luxembourg is predominantly Roman Catholic.


Political Profile:

Short name   Luxembourg
Official name Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
Status Independent country since 1816 (until 1890 in personal union with the Netherlands), member of the ► European Union since 1957
Location Western Europe
Capital Lëtzebuerg (Luxembourg)



Population 626,108 inhabitants
Area 2,586 km²
Major languages Luxembourgish, French, German (all official)
Major religions Roman Catholicism
Exit mobile version