Political Map of Russia | Administrative Divisions of Russia

Russia, the largest country in the world, spans across two continents, Europe and Asia, covering approximately 17.1 million square kilometers. Its vastness and diversity are not only reflected in its landscapes but also in its administrative divisions. In this blog post, we will explore the political map of Russia and delve into its complex system of administrative divisions, providing insights into the structure of this vast nation.

Border Map of Russia

Russia’s immense territory, spanning eleven time zones, shares borders with fourteen neighboring countries. To the west, it is bound by European nations such as Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Belarus, and Ukraine. Its southern frontier meets the diverse landscapes of Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, North Korea, and China.

Russia’s northern coastline extends along the Arctic Ocean, while its eastern edge meets the vast expanse of the Pacific Ocean. These maritime borders grant Russia access to vital shipping routes and abundant natural resources.

Political System: A Federation with Centralized Power

The Russian Federation, established in 1991 following the dissolution of the Soviet Union, operates under a semi-presidential system of government. The President, serving as the head of state, holds significant power, including the authority to appoint the Prime Minister and other key government officials.

The Federal Assembly, Russia’s legislative body, comprises two chambers: the State Duma and the Federation Council. The State Duma, composed of 450 elected representatives, is responsible for drafting and passing laws. The Federation Council, consisting of 170 members representing Russia’s various regions, serves as an advisory body to the State Duma.

Russia’s Administrative Divisions: A Complex Structure

Russia is divided into several types of administrative divisions, each with its own set of authorities and responsibilities. The key administrative divisions include:

1. Federal Subjects: Russia is composed of 85 federal subjects, which can be further categorized into three types: republics, krais (territories), and oblasts (provinces). These federal subjects have varying degrees of autonomy, with some having their own official languages and constitutions. The Republic of Tatarstan, for example, has its own president and constitution.

2. Autonomous Okrugs: There are also 9 autonomous okrugs, which are regions with a certain level of self-governance. The most well-known of these is the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug, which is rich in natural resources like natural gas.

3. Federal Cities: Russia has three federal cities—Moscow, Saint Petersburg, and Sevastopol. These cities have the same status as federal subjects and are not part of any oblast or krai. They serve as separate administrative units.

4. Autonomous Areas: Autonomous areas are regions within oblasts and krais with a significant indigenous population. They have some degree of self-governance, particularly concerning cultural and language issues. An example is the Chukotka Autonomous Area.

5. Republics with Special Status: In addition to the standard republics, there are two republics with special status: the Republic of Crimea and the Federal City of Sevastopol. These two entities were annexed by Russia in 2014 and are not internationally recognized as part of Russia.

6. Territorial Divisions: Within oblasts and krais, there are various territorial divisions, including districts and cities. These are further subdivided into towns, rural settlements, and other units.

7. Municipal Divisions: At the local level, Russia’s administrative divisions are organized into municipalities, which can be urban or rural. Municipalities have elected authorities responsible for local governance.


Russia’s administrative divisions are a reflection of its immense size and the diversity of its population and landscapes. Understanding this complex system is essential for comprehending how the country is governed and how different regions can have varying degrees of autonomy and influence. The political map of Russia is not just a representation of borders; it’s a glimpse into the rich tapestry of a nation that spans two continents and countless cultures.

Exit mobile version