Time Zone Map of the USA | US Time Zones

How Many Time Zones Are There in the US?

There are 9 time zones by law in the USA and their dependencies. however, adding the time zones of 2 uninhabited US territories gives 11 time zones in total.

1. The Atlantic standard time zone
2. The Eastern standard time zone
3. The Central standard time zone
4. The Mountain standard time zone
5. The Pacific standard time zone
6. The Alaska standard time zone
7. The Hawaii–Aleutian standard time zone
8. The Samoa standard time zone
9. The Chamorro standard time zone

There are 9 time zones in the USA: Hawaii (UTC -10:00), Alaska (UTC-09:00), Pacific (UTC-08:00), Mountain (UTC-07:00), Central (UTC-06:00), Eastern (UTC-05:00). The US also has Samoa (UTC-11:00) and Chamorro (UTC+10:00) timezones (not included in the map above.

Time Zones Currently Being Used in the United States

Offset Time Zone Abbreviation & Name Example City  
UTC -10 HAST Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time Honolulu
UTC -9 AKST Alaska Standard Time Anchorage
UTC -8 PST Pacific Standard Time Los Angeles
UTC -7 MST Mountain Standard Time Salt Lake City
UTC -6 CST Central Standard Time Chicago
UTC -5 EST Eastern Standard Time New York

Standard Time And Daylight Saving Time

Time Zone Standard Time Daylight Time
Pacific Time Zone PST (UTC−08:00) PDT (UTC−07:00)
Mountain Time Zone MST (UTC−07:00) MDT (UTC−06:00)
Central Time Zone CST (UTC−06:00) CDT (UTC−05:00)
Eastern Time Zone EST (UTC−05:00) EDT (UTC−04:00)

The US States And Time Zones

Alabama CT Illinois CT Montana MT, PT Rhode Island ET
Alaska AKST Indiana ET Nebraska CT, MT South Carolina ET
Arizona MT Iowa CT Nevada PT South Dakota CT, MT
Arkansas CT Kansas CT, MT New Hampshire ET Tennessee CT
California PT Kentucky CT New Jersey ET Texas CT
Colorado MT Louisiana CT New Mexico MT Utah MT
Connecticut ET Maine ET New York ET Vermont ET
Delaware ET Maryland ET North Carolina ET Virginia ET
District of Columbia ET Massachusetts ET North Dakota CT, MT Washington PT
Florida ET Michigan ET Ohio ET West Virginia ET
Georgia ET Minnesota CT Oklahoma CT Wisconsin ET, CT
Hawaii HAST Mississippi CT Oregon PT Wyoming MT
Idaho MT Missouri CT Pennsylvania ET


Exit mobile version