Map of New Mexico | Political, County, Geography, Transportation, And Cities Map

New Mexico is a US state Comprising an area of 121,589 square miles. The map of New Mexico is the 5th largest of the country. It is a landlocked state located in the Mountain Division of the southwestern United States. With a population of 2 million people (in 2019), New Mexico is the 36th largest state by population. The state shares borders with Arizona in the west, Colorado in the north, Oklahoma to the northeast, Texas to the east, Utah to the northwest. Santa Fe is the state capital of New Mexico.

Native Americans inhabited this area for thousands of years before European exploration. Santa Fe de Nuevo México was a province of the Viceroyalty of New Spain For more than two centuries. It became a territory of Mexico that gained independence from Spain in 1821.

United States forces invaded and occupied the New Mexico area In 1846. The Gadsden Purchase of 1853-54 increased The amount of land gained by the United States. On 6 January 1912, New Mexico finally joined as the 47th state of the United States.

New Mexico Facts


Political Map of New Mexico

New Mexico is a landlocked state located in the southwestern United States. It borders with Colorado to the north, Oklahoma, and Texas to the east, and Arizona in the west. The state also shares an international border with the Mexican states of Chihuahua to the south and Sonora to the southwest. The state capital of New Mexico is Santa Fe. It was founded in 1610 as the capital of Nuevo México (itself established as a province of New Spain in 1598).


County Map of New Mexico

There are 33 counties in County Map of New Mexico. Each County is administered by the County Seat. In 1852, There were originally nine counties. Santa Ana County, New Mexico Territory, one of the nine original counties, was annexed in 1876 to Bernalillo County, New Mexico. Catron County is the largest county of the state. It covers a total area of 6,928 square miles. Bernalillo County is the most populous county of the state.


Geography Map of New Mexico

New Mexico covers an area of 314,917 km² (121,590 sq mi), making it the 5th largest US state. The state shares borders with Arizona in the west, Colorado in the north, Oklahoma to the northeast, Texas to the east, Utah to the northwest. Santa Fe is the state capital of New Mexico.

The highest point in the state is Wheeler Peak at 4013.3 m (13,167 ft). Red Bluff Reservoir at 2,842 feet above the sea level is the lowest point in New Mexico. The major rivers are the Rio Grande (Great River) which is New Mexico’s longest river. The Pecos River has its source near Santa Fe and flows over 1490 km through the eastern part of New Mexico. Major lakes are the Elephant Butte Reservoir, Conchas Lake, and the Navajo Reservoir.

New Mexico has three UNESCO World Heritage Sites. 

1. Chaco Culture

2. Taos Pueblo

3. Carlsbad Caverns National Park


Transportation Map of New Mexico

The Transportation Map of New Mexico clearly indicates the several state roads and national highways passing through the state. New Mexico had 59,927 miles of streets and public roads in 2000. The state has only three Interstate Highways. Interstate 10, I-25, and I-40 are the major highways of the state.

There are 15 United States Highways in the state. This includes US 54, US 56, US 60, US 62, US 64, US 70, US 82, US 84, US 87, US 160, US 180, US 285, US 380, US 491, and US 550.The largest airport in the state is Albuquerque International Sunport. There were 2,354 route miles of railroads in the state.

Cities Map of New Mexico

The state capital of New Mexico is Santa Fe and the fourth largest city in the state. Albuquerque is the most populated city in New Mexico with an estimated population of 559,277 people. Las Cruces is the second-largest city of the state. The 10 largest cities in New Mexico are Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Santa Fe, Rio Rancho, Roswell, Farmington, Clovis, Hobbs, Alamogordo, and Carlsbad.

Other cities and towns in New Mexico:
Alamogordo, Artesia, Aztec, Belen, Bernalillo, Carlsbad, Carrizozo, Cimarron, Clayton, Clovis, Cuba, Deming, Des Moines, Espanola, Estancia, Hobbs, Las Vegas, Logan, Lordsburg, Los Alamos, Lovington, Mora, Mosquero, Portales, Raton, Reserve, Santa Rosa, Shiprock, Silver City, Truth or Consequences, Tucumcari, Vaughn, and Zuni.

Exit mobile version