What is The Honours System Of Australia?

The Australian honours system consists of a number of orders, decorations, and medals through which the country’s sovereign awards its citizens for actions or deeds that benefit the nation. Established in 1975 with the creation of the Order of Australia, the system’s scope has grown since then and over time has replaced the Imperial/British honours system that previously applied to Australians.

Australian honours system:

1. Order of Australia
2. Knight / Dame of the Order of Australia (AK / AD)
3. Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)
4. Victoria Cross for Australia (VC)
5. Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Exit mobile version