What is the National animal of India?

What is the National animal of India?

Royal Bengal Tiger is the official National animal of India. The India Panther was entitled as the “official India’s National animal”. Panthera tigris Tigris is the scientific name of the India Panther. It is known as Bengal Tiger. India’s National animal, The Bengal tigers in the Sundarbans in India and India are the only tigers in the world, which inhabit in mangrove forests. It is found across the Indian subcontinent and little to its native areas.

According to the phylogeographic study, which used 134 samples from tigers across the global range suggest that the historical northeastern distribution limit of the Bengal tiger is the region in the Chittagong Hills and Brahmaputra River basin, bordering the historical range of the Indochinese tiger. The Government of India has designated the Royal Bengal Tiger as the official National animal of India.

National animal of India facts—

  • Common Name: Bengal Tiger
  • Scientific Name: Panthera tigris Tigris
  • Habitat: In the Indian subcontinent, tigers inhabit tropical moist evergreen forests, tropical and subtropical moist deciduous forests, tropical dry forests, subtropical and temperate upland forests, mangroves, and alluvial grasslands.
  • Length: The average length, from nose to tail, of males of this species, is 9 – 10 feet. Females are being few smaller. The tail is in an average 2.75 – 3.6 feet long.
  • Weight: The weight of tiger (male) ranges from 170 to 248 kg, while the tigress (female) ranges from 100 to 160 kg.
  • Height: The average height at the shoulder is 2.9 – 3.6 feet.
  • Color: The Royal Bengal Tiger is distinctively nice looking with its orange fur coat with black or dark brown stripes. The belly and inner facing part of legs are white furs while the tail is orange and black rings.
  • Diet: The power of the Bengal tiger is a carnivorous animal search for medium or large prey, mainly ungulate mammals. It prefers hunting large ungulates such as sambar, chital, gaur, and to a lesser extent also barasingha, nilgai, water buffalo, serow, and takin. In the medium-sized prey species, it frequently kills a wild boar, and occasionally hog deer, muntjac, and grey langur, while the small prey like a porcupine, hares, and peafowl form a very small part in its diet.
  • Major strength: Agility, spirit and speed.
  • Major weakness: None.
  • Lifespan: About 15 years in the wild and 18 years in captivity.

India’s National animal, The Royal Bengal Tiger have short, thick necks, broad shoulders, and massive forelimbs, which is ideal for grappling with prey while holding on with long retractable claws and wide forepaws. The tongue is covered with solid papillae, to scratch flesh off the bones of prey. The morphology of the Bengal tiger is attractive and impressive. It has thick legs, strong teeth, and jaws, coat with the characteristic coloration pattern. The coat of these felines is useful for camouflage but differs from each other.

Actuality, there are no Bengal tigers with the equivalent way of dark stripes but they make up an exclusively identifiable pattern like as fingerprints in humans. Bengal tigers have the longest canines of any living large cat; from 7.5 to 10 cm in length. The dental formula of the Bengal Tiger is 3/3, 1/1, 3/2, 1/1. The skull is robust, short, and broad with wide zygomatic arches; nasal bones are high, prophetic little advance than the maxillary, where the canines fit.

National animal of India, The Royal Bengal Tiger has no definite mating and birth seasons but it is found that the peak sexual activity starts from November which remains up to February. Most young are born in December and April. Young has also been found in March, May, October, and November. The female has to face the pregnancy for around 110 days, giving birth to 2-4 cubs at a time. The mother feeds them milk for about 2 months and then the Bengal tiger cubs are introduced to meat. The Bengal tigers are performed individually the most of their activities alone, except breeding.

Regarding this, the social interfaces happen during courtship, copulation, and parental care. The basic social unit is that of the mother with her cubs. At an age between 5 and six months, the cubs start learning how to hunt, and at the age of 2 or 3 years, they begin their solitary life. India’s National animal, The Royal Bengal tiger is among the one of the largest parts of tiger subspecies.

The population of the Bengal Tiger is estimated at 440 in Bangladesh, 1,520–1,909 in India, 124–229 in Nepal while 67–81 in Bhutan. It has already been classified as an endangered species, susceptible to extinction by IUCN. For the sake of conservation of this mystic cat, it is chosen to be the national animal of India analogous to Bangladesh. Save tiger!








Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.