What is The National Currency of Colombia?

Peso Is The National Currency of Colombia. It has been the official currency of Colombia since 1837. The symbol used for the Peso is $. Banknotes are issued by the Banco de la Republica The National Bank of Colombia.

A subdivision of the Peso is the centavo; 1 peso = 100 centavos. The first Peso was issued in 1837, replacing the Currency Real at a rate of 8 Reales = 1 Peso. The Colombian government is debating whether to reintroduce a new Peso that is worth 1,000 old Pesos.

Exit mobile version