Map of Asia | Political Map of Asia with Borders

The Political Map of Asia shows large parts of Asia with the exception of some countries in  Western Asia and the Middle East. Asia is the largest and most populous continent in the world. It shares borders with Europe and Africa to its West, Oceania to its South, and North America to its East. it constitutes nearly one-third of Earth’s landmass and is lying entirely north of the equator except for some Southeast Asian islands.

The continent is connected to Africa by the Isthmus of Suez and borders Europe (which is part of the same landmass) along the Ural Mountains and across the Caspian Sea. Asia has a coastline in the north at the Arctic Ocean, in the east at the Pacific Ocean, and in the south at the Indian Ocean.

As per the Asia Political Map, the continent of Asia features 48 countries. Of these, two countries – Russia and Turkey – are located in both Asia and Europe.

Map of Asia Facts

Area of Asia: about 49,700,000 km² (19,189,277 sq mi) covers about 30 percent of Earth’s total land area.

The population of Asia: more than 4 billion people (4.3 billion in 2013), about 60 percent of the world’s population. 1.34 billion of these people live in China, 1.2 billion in India. Seven out of ten of the most populated countries are in Asia (2010).

Highest Point of Asia: Sagarmatha (Chomolungma; known as Mount Everest) 8,848m (29,028 ft) Nepal.

Largest Lake of Asia: Caspian Sea (salt lake) 371 000 km² (143 250 sq mi),

Longest River of Asia: Yangtze (Yángzî Jiang, or Chang Jiang China, 6,380 km (3,964 mi).

Asia Political Map

The Asian continent can be divided into some sectors like:

1. Western Asia (Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Cyprus, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, Jordan, Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, Saudi Arabia)

2. Southeast Asia (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Lester, Vietnam, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands)

3. South Asia (Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, the Maldives)

4. East Asia (China, Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Macau)

5. Central Asia (Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan)

Asia stretches from Japan in the East through Russia in the West. It encompasses Saudi Arabia and everything above Asia. India and China are the largest of the continent’s countries with the highest population rate.

✅What are the Political Features of Asia?

Constitutional monarchies, absolute monarchies, one-party states, federal states, dependent territories, liberal democracies and military dictatorships are all factors in the region, as well as various forms of independence movements.

Exit mobile version