Map of Oceania | Large Political Map of Oceania

Oceania is a geographic region that includes Australasia, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Spanning the eastern and western hemispheres, Map of Oceania covers an area of 8,525,989 square kilometers (3,291,903 sq mi) and a population of over 47 million. Oceania Situated in the southeast of the Asia-Pacific region. When compared to continental regions, it is the smallest in land area and the second smallest in population after Antarctica.

The continent Map of Oceania comprises Australia and New Zealand, which are the two largest countries of the continent, as well as numerous islands dotting the Pacific Ocean, notably Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Polynesia, and Micronesia.

The first settlers of Australia, New Guinea, and the large islands just to the east arrived more than 60,000 years ago. Oceania was first explored by Europeans from the 16th century onward. The major attention was brought to the Pacific region during the Second World War, owing to the rivalry between Allied Powers (the United States and Australia), and Axis powers (Japan).

Since the social and political norms were altered because of the explorations, plenty of discussions are being carried out recently by Oceanians, to have their individualistic identity and their own flag.

Facts About Oceania

Lat-Long: 30.0000° S,  140.0000° E
Demonym: Oceanic, Oceanian
Countries: 14
Dependencies: 25
Total Area: 3,296,044 sq. mi , (8,536,716 sq. km)
Population: 38.82 million
Largest Country: Australia
Smallest Country: Nauru
Largest City: Sydney
Major Language: English
Major Religion: Christianity
Time Zone: UTC+8 to UTC-6

Countries in Oceania

The Political Map of Oceania comprises 14 countries in Oceania today, according to United Nations official statistics. The full list is shown in the table below, with the current population totals.

Dependencies or other territories


Exit mobile version