Administrative Map of Canada | Canada Provinces Map

Canada is a huge and 2nd largest country in the continent of North America. Map of Canada shares a border with the US state of Alaska in the northwest and by 12 other US states in the south. It also shares maritime borders with the island of Greenland in the northeast and the French island regions of Saint Pierre and Miquelon in the southeast. The Administrative Map of Canada is divided into provinces and territories, each with its own government. The Administration has 13 political divisions: 10 provinces and 3 territories.

The difference between a province and a territory has to do with their governance. Basically, the territories have delegated powers under the authority of the Constitution Act, 1867 (formerly called The British North America Act, 1867). The provinces, on the other hand, exercise constitutional powers in their own right. This imbalance of power is gradually being rectified, with local decision-making powers being granted to the territories.

Canada Provinces And Territories Map

Canada has ten provinces and three territories. Each province and territory has its own capital city. Ottawa, located on the Ottawa River, was chosen as the capital in 1857 by Queen Victoria, the great-great-grandmother of Queen Elizabeth II. Today it is Canada’s fourth-largest metropolitan area. The National Capital Region, 4,700 square kilometers surrounding Ottawa, preserves and enhances the area’s built heritage and natural environment.

Region Province/Territory Capital City
Atlantic region
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Nova Scotia
  • New Brunswick
  • St. John’s
  • Charlottetown
  • Halifax
  • Fredericton
Central Canada
  • Quebec
  • Ontario
  • Québec City
  • Toronto
Prairie Provinces
  • Manitoba
  • Saskatchewan
  • Alberta
  • Winnipeg
  • Regina
  • Edmonton
West Coast
  • British Columbia
  • Victoria
  • Nunavut Territory
  • Northwest Territories
  • Yukon Territory
  • Iqaluit
  • Yellowknife
  • Whitehorse

The majority of Canada’s population is concentrated in the areas close to the Canada–US border. Its four largest provinces by area (Quebec, Ontario, British Columbia, and Alberta) are also (with Quebec and Ontario switched in order) its most populous; together they account for 86% of the country’s population.

Exit mobile version