State Capital Of New York

State Capital Of New York

Albany Is The State Capital Of New York. Albany is located on the west bank of the Hudson River approximately 10 miles south of its confluence with the Mohawk River and approximately 135 miles north of New York City. New York State Capital Albany was at the forefront of numerous urban developments in the United States, such as sewer lines, electricity, and natural gas lines, public water mains, and infrastructure which enabled it to support a thriving industrial sector. The city further embraced high-technology in the 20th century.


History of the Capital of New York

State Capital Of New York Albany is among the oldest European settlements still in use from the initial thirteen colonies, and it is the nation’s longest continuously chartered city. Englishman Henry Hudson claimed the region for the United Netherlands in 1606, following which Hendrick Christiaensen constructed a fur-trading post named Fort-Nassau in 1614. The English named the area New York State Capital Albany upon capturing New Netherland in 1664. When the Province of New York was divided into counties on November 1, 1683, Albany was the largest, with the City of Albany as its seat. The city benefited from real estate expansion during and after the Revolutionary War, which facilitated the growth of its population.


Geography of Albany

State Capital Of New York Albany lies approximately 150 miles north of the New York City on the Hudson River. Albany occupies an area of 21.8 square miles, of which 0.4 square miles is water and the other 21.4 square miles island. The city borders Bethlehem to the south, Guilderland to the west, and Colonie to the north. The city’s southern border is occupied by Normans Kill, while the northern and eastern borders are occupied by the Patroon Creek and the Hudson River, respectively. The city’s territory includes four lakes, namely Washington Park Lake, Rensselaer Lake, Buckingham Lake, and Tivoli Lake.


Population of Albany

State Capital Of New York Albany’s population throughout the centuries has included Germans, Irish, English, Poles, Italians, and African-Americans. The 2010 census reported a population of 97,856 within the municipality, while the metropolitan population was 857,592 people.


Government of Albany

The Capital City of New York state houses its city government as well as the governments of Albany County and the State of New York. The top executive in Albany is the mayor, whose election takes place every four years. Legislative duties in Albany are executed by the Common Council, which brings together 15 members from each ward, in addition to a Common Council President. The state government operates various offices throughout the city.

TOPICS >   | | New York