State Capital Of North Dakota

State Capital Of North Dakota

Bismarck Is The Official State Capital Of North Dakota. Located on the Missouri River, the city of Bismarck ranks second among North Dakota’s cities behind Fargo in terms of population. The 2016 population was approximately 72,417 with a metropolitan population of 131,635. North Dakota State Capital Bismarck was originally occupied by the Mandan Native American community, who spoke the Hidatsa language. European Americans established a settlement in what was then the Missouri Crossing in 1872, which was later called Edwinton, in honor of Edwin Ferry Johnson, the engineer-in-chief contracted by the Northern Pacific Railway. The company’s railroad developments attracted settlers and workers, and the company named the growing city Bismarck in 1872, after Otto von Bismarck, the chancellor of Germany. The name was intended to attract German investment and settlers. Gold deposits in the Black Hills of South Dakota triggered the immigration of thousands of miners to the city. State Capital Of North Dakota Bismarck was recognized as the capital of Dakota Territory in 1883, and in 1889 it became the capital of the newly incorporated state of North Dakota.


Founded: May 14, 1872

Named for: Otto von Bismarck


  • Mayor Steve Bakken


  • State capital City: 31.23 sq mi (80.89 km2)
  • Land: 30.85 sq mi (79.90 km2)
  • Water: 0.38 sq mi (0.98 km2)

Elevation: 1,686 ft (514 m)

Population (2010):

  • State capital City: 61,272
  • Estimate (2018): 73,112
  • Rank US: 494th


Economy of Bismarck

The health sector is a major employer in the North Dakota State Capital Bismarck. Sanford Health has 25,000 employees in the company, while St. Alexius Medical Center employs 2,264 individuals. The state of North Dakota employs about 4,400 workers, and 1,200 individuals work for the federal government. Other top employers are the public schools, Wal-Mart, the City of Bismarck, Coventry Health Care, MDU Resources, and Aetna.


Government of Bismarck

State Capital Of North Dakota Bismarck is governed by the city commission type of municipal government. Citizens choose five at-large city commissioners who must receive the majority of electorate votes. This scenario makes it difficult for minorities and other interest groups to propel the candidates they prefer to victory. The city’s mayoral position is occupied by the city commission’s president. The city commission convenes on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month. North Dakota State Capital Bismarck is home to North Dakota’s state capitol building, which houses the legislative and judicial divisions of the state, in addition to multiple government agencies.

TOPICS >   | | North Dakota