Map of Africa | Large Political Map of Africa

Africa is the second-largest and second-most-populous continent in the world. The Map of Africa Comprises of an area of about 30.3 million km2 (11.7 million square miles) including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth’s total surface area and 20% of its land area. According to the Map of Africa, It is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Isthmus of Suez and the Red Sea to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.

With a 2011 population of 1,032,532,974, it accounts for just over 14% of the world’s human population. Map of Africa contains the Nile River system, the world’s longest, and the massive Sahara Desert, the world’s largest.

Algeria is Africa’s largest country by area, and Nigeria is its largest by population. Africa hosts a large diversity of ethnicities, cultures, and languages. In the late 19th century, European countries colonized almost all of Africa; most present states in Africa emerged from a process of decolonization in the 20th century.

History of Africa

Africa is the birthplace of mankind, as large numbers of human-like fossils (discovered nowhere else) were found on the continent, some dating back 3.5 million years. In 3200 BC the Egyptian culture emerged along the lower reaches of the Nile River; it was among the earliest civilizations and their tools and weapons were made of bronze. They also pioneered the building of massive pyramids and temples.

Before the Middle Ages began, the Roman Empire collapsed and the Arabs quickly took their place on the continent. The continent-changing 16th Century began with Europeans transporting African slaves to the Americas for profit. By mid-century, most of the continent was independent, with Angola finally free in 1975.

The Political Map of Africa depicts the various countries of the continent, the international boundaries, and neighboring continents. Oceans and seas adjoining Africa are also depicted on the Map of Africa. 

The Large Political Map of Africa shows that There are 54 sovereign countries in Africa. 55 African countries are members of the African Union, a federation of African nations established in 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Country List of Africa

Country Capital Population
Algeria Algiers 33,333,267
Angola Luanda 16,941,000
Benin Porto-Novo 8,439,000
Botswana Gaborone 1,839,833
Burkina Ouagadougou 13,228,000
Burundi Bujumbura 7,548,000
Cameroon Yaoundé 17,795,000
Cape Verde Praia 420,979
Central African Republic Bangui 4,216,666
Chad N’Djamena 10,146,000
Comoros Moroni 798,000
Congo Kinshasa 75,507,308
Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo Brazzaville 4,012,809
Djibouti Djibouti City 906,000
Egypt Cairo 84,550,000
Equatorial Guinea Malabo 504,000
Eritrea Asmara 5,880,000
Ethiopia Addis Ababa 85,237,338
Gabon Libreville 1,384,000
Gambia Banjul 1,517,000
Ghana Accra 23,000,000
Guinea Conakry 10,057,975
Guinea-Bissau Bissau 1,586,000
Ivory Coast Yamoussoukro 17,654,843
Kenya Nairobi 34,707,817
Lesotho Maseru 2,067,000
Liberia Monrovia 4,128,572
Libya Tripoli 6,036,914
Madagascar Antananarivo 18,606,000
Malawi Lilongwe 12,884,000
Mali Bamako 13,518,000
Mauritania Nouakchott 3,069,000
Mauritius Port Louis 1,219,220
Morocco Rabat 35,757,175
Mozambique Maputo 20,366,795
Namibia Windhoek 2,031,000
Niger Niamey 13,957,000
Nigeria Abuja 174,507,539
Rwanda Kigali 7,600,000
Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome 183,176
Senegal Dakar 11,658,000
Seychelles Victoria 80,654
Sierra Leone Freetown 6,144,562
Somalia Mogadishu 10,532,017
South Africa Bloemfontein 52,981,991
South Sudan Juba 8,260,490
Sudan Khartoum 36,787,012
Swaziland Lobamba 1,032,000
Tanzania Dodoma 44,929,002
Togo Lomé 7,154,237
Tunisia Tunis 10,102,000
Uganda Kampala 27,616,000
Zambia Lusaka 14,668,000
Zimbabwe Harare 13,010,000

Regions of Africa

The Political Map of the Africa continent is commonly divided into five subregions: North or Northern Africa, West Africa, Central or Middle Africa, East Africa, and Southern Africa.

Exit mobile version