Physical Map of Asia | Asian Geography Map

Asia is the largest and most Popular continent in the world. Physical Map of Asia covers approximately 9% of the Earth and 30 percent of the Earth’s land area. It is located in the northern hemisphere but few islands extend in the southern hemisphere.

Asia is bordered by the Suez Canal on its east, surrounded by the Ural Mountains, and has the Caucasus Mountains to its south. Asia also has the Caspian and Black Seas. The Pacific Ocean touches its shores on the eastern side, with the Indian Ocean on the southern end and the Arctic Ocean on the north. Asian continent consists of 48 countries.

Asia Geography Map is extremely different in terms of its climates and geographic features. The Southwestern part of Asia remains hot throughout the year. On the other hand, Siberia is the coldest place in the Northern Hemisphere. Asia also features the most dangerous tropical-cyclone-prone areas on Earth: the Philippines and south of Japan.

Three Regions of Asia are Dry: The Mongolian Gobi Desert and the Arabian Desert of the Middle. The river map of Asia features the Yangtze River in China which is the longest river in Asia. The tallest mountain on the earth is also located in Asia which is The Himalayas, stretching from Nepal to China. The tropical rainforests are spread across most of southern Asia and coniferous and deciduous forests lie farther north.

Major Physical Regions of Asia

Mountain Ranges:

Plateaus and Deserts:

Rivers and Lakes:

Region And Countries of Asia

1. West Asia Physical Map

West Asia is located in the area between Central Asia and Africa, south of Eastern Europe. It has 19 Countries: Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Cyprus, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, Jordan, Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Oman, and Yemen. It also includes the Sinai Peninsula of Egypt.

2. Southeast Asia Physical Map

Southeast Asia is located north of Australia, south of East Asia, west of the Pacific Ocean, and east of the Bay of Bengal. It has 15 countries and territories: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, Vietnam, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands.

3. South Asia

South Asia Features 8 autonomous countries: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, and the Maldives.

4. East Asia

East Asia features 8 countries and regions: China, Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Macau. Today, East Asia is believed to have some of the most advanced technologies in the world, which fosters economic development.

5. Central Asia

Central Asia is west of China, south of Russia, and north of Afghanistan. It has 5 countries: Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, and Kyrgyzstan. The Region played an important role in the transportation of goods between China and Europe during the Silk Road trading era.

Exit mobile version