National Flag Of South Sudan

National Flag Of South Sudan

The National Flag Of South Sudan is one of the Youngest Flags in the World. The Flag Of South Sudan was officially adopted On 9 July 2005, while the country became independent in 2011. The flag was adopted following the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement that ended the Second Sudanese Civil War.

The South Sudan National Flag consists of six colors of black, red, green, blue, white and gold. The flag design features three horizontal stripes in black, red and green colors and a blue wedge on the left side of the Flag Of South Sudan. The stripes on the flag are separated by narrower white stripes and in the center of the wedge, there is a yellow five-pointed star.


Symbolism Of The Flag Of South Sudan

The colors that were chosen for this National Flag Of South Sudan were designed to represent the people of the nation. The color black is used to symbolize the South Sudanese people. The color red represents the struggle for freedom. Green signifies agriculture, natural resources, land and a symbol of progress.

White signifies the peace acquired after years of struggle for liberation. The Blue color on the South Sudan National Flag means the River Nile which is a source of life for the entire nation while The yellow star symbolizes the unity of the nations under South Sudan.


Origin Of The Flag

When Sudan gained independence in 1956, the dominant religion (Islam) living in northern Sudan had its Islamic symbols on the national Flag Of South Sudan. On the other hand, The Christians community had no regional symbols. From the outset, the southern Sudanese felt discriminated against by the Islamic north and this led to a civil war for their independence.

A Peace agreement was later signed between North Sudan and South Sudan in 2005. After the signing of the peace agreement to end the long civil war in Sudan, the Flag Of South Sudan was used and was officially adopted.


Some Information About Flag:

In Which Year, The National Flag Is Adopted?
Ans: On 9 July 2005

What Are The Colours of The Flag?
Ans: black, red, green, blue, white and gold

When The Country Become Independence?
And: In 2011

TOPICS >   | | South Sudan