Map of Jiangsu Province | Political, Physical, Geography And Cities Map

Bordered by Shanghai and Zhejiang Province, Jiangsu is one of the leading provinces in finance, technology, education, and tourism. Map of Jiangsu Province is located in the center of the eastern coast of mainland China. It covers an area of over 100,000 square kilometers and has a population of 80 million. Jiangsu is the third smallest, but the fifth most populous and the most densely populated of the 23 provinces of the People’s Republic of China. The capital city of Jiangsu Province is Nanjing.

Jiangsu’s history goes back at least 5,000 years. It was part of the Wu kingdom in the Warring States period, and then became integrated into China during the Qin and Han dynasties before re-emerging as the Kingdom of Wu again briefly during the Three Kingdoms period. Under Qing rule, the original province called ‘Nanzhili’ was renamed ‘Jiangnan’ and finally split into modern Jiangsu and Anhui in 1666.

Jiangsu Facts

Administration Type: Province
Capital: Nanjing
Location in China’s Territory: eastern coastal area; lower reaches of Yangtze River and Huaihe River
Location: 30°45′ to 35°20′ N, 116°18′ to 121°57′ E
Climate: transition climate from warm temperate to subtropical
Annual Average Temperature: 13°C-16°C
Annual Average Rainfall: 1,002.7 millimeters
Area: 102,600km² (39,614mi²)
Population (2019): 80,700,000

Political Map of Jiangsu Province

Jiangsu is an eastern-central coastal province of the People’s Republic of China. It covers an area of over 100,000 square kilometers and has a population of 80 million. Political Map of Jiangsu shares borders with Shandong in the north, Anhui to the west, and Zhejiang and Shanghai to the south. Jiangsu has a coastline of over 1,000 kilometers (620 mi) along the Yellow Sea, and the Yangtze River passes through the southern part of the province. The capital city of Jiangsu Province is Nanjing.

Physical Map of Jiangsu Province

Jiangsu is a coastal province straddling the Yangzi river as it reaches the sea. Due to its position on the route of the Grand Canal industrial development started hundreds of years ago making Jiangsu a key Chinese province. Jiangsu is flat, with plains covering 68 percent of its total area (water covers another 18 percent). Most of the province stands not more than 50 meters (160 ft) above sea level. Major rivers in this province are Yangtze River, Huai River, Yi River, Shu River, Qinhuai River, and Xinshu River.

Geography Map of Jiangsu Province

Most part of Jiangsu is an extensive flat area with an altitude of lower than 50 meters, taken up by Yangtze River Delta, Jianghuai Plain, Huanghuai Plain, and Binhai Plain. Closeness to the sea ensures Jiangsu has hot, humid summers and generally cooler, drier winters. Seasonal changes are clear-cut, with temperatures at an average of −1 to 4 °C (30 to 39 °F) in January and 26 to 29 °C (79 to 84 °F) in July. The province’s waters and farmland have led to its nickname as the ‘Land of fish and rice. Heavy and light industries are both well represented giving it over 10% of China’s total GDP.

Cities Map of Jiangsu Province

Major Cities

Changshu 1,047,700
Changzhou 949,018
Haimen 125,427
Huai’an 2,700,000
Kunshan 1,600,000
Lianyungang 521,412
Liyang 333,478
Nanjing 7,165,292
Nantong 666,251
Pizhou 353,595
Suzhou 5,345,961
Taixing 315,742
Wuxi 3,543,719
Xuzhou 1,560,600

Exit mobile version