Map of Shaanxi Province | Political, Geography, And Cities Map

Shaanxi is a landlocked province located along the middle reaches of the Yellow River, with Huangpu Plateau on the north. Map of Shaanxi Province covers an area of over 205,000 km2 (79,151 sq mi) with about 38 million people, the 16th highest in China. The province shares borders with Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Gansu, Sichuan, Hubei, Shanxi and Shandong Provinces, and Chongqing Municipality. The capital city of Shaanxi is Xian.

Shaanxi Facts

Administration Type: Province
Capital: Xi’an
Location in China’s Territory: hinterland of mainland China
Location: 31°42′ to 39°35′ N, 105°29′ to 111°15′
Climate: temperate subarid climate, temperate monsoon climate, subtropical monsoon climate from north to south
Average Annual Temperature: 7-16°C
Average Annual Rainfall: 340-1,240 millimeters
Area: 205,800 km² (79,460mi²)
Population (2019): 3,8762,100

Political Map of Shaanxi Province

Shaanxi Province is located in the heart of China’s territory and including most of the middle reaches of the Yellow River. Political Map of Shaanxi Province shares borders with the province-level divisions of Shanxi (NE, E), Henan (E), Hubei (SE), Chongqing (S), Sichuan (SW), Gansu (W), Ningxia (NW), and Inner Mongolia (N). The capital city of Shaanxi is Xian. Shaanxi consists of ten prefecture-level divisions. The ten prefecture-level cities of Shaanxi are subdivided into 107 county-level divisions (30 districts, 4 county-level cities, and 73 counties).

Geography Map of Shaanxi Province

The Province comprises three distinct geographic natural regions – the northern upland plateau, the southern mountainous region, and the Guanzhong (Central Shaanxi) Plain. Besides the provincial capital of Xi’an, other cities include Baoji, Hanzhong, Lintong, Tongchuan, Xianyang, Yan’an, and Ankang.

Shaanxi Province is located in a subtropic humid monsoon climate zone. Its northern part has a dry winter and spring, but a rainy summer and autumn, while its southern part enjoys a temperate humid climate, with abundant rainfall. With an annual rainfall between 500 ~ 1,000 mm, the average annual temperature is between 9 ~ 16 ℃, and -11 ~ 3.5 ℃ in January and 21 ~ 28 ℃ in July.

Cities Map of Shaanxi Province

Name Population
Census (C)
1 Xī’ān 5,403,052
2 Băojī 871,940
3 Xiányáng 835,648
4 Hànzhōng 494,763
5 Tóngchuān 463,866
6 Yúlín 429,189
7 Ānkāng 379,707
8 Wèinán 347,484
9 Yán’ān 336,856
Exit mobile version