State Capital Of Ohio

State Capital Of Ohio

Columbus Is the Official State Capital Of Ohio. It Is Also The Most Populous city in the U.S. State of Ohio. The city of Columbus was founded in 1812, at the confluence of the Scioto and Olentangy rivers, and assumed the functions of Ohio State Capital in 1816. Columbus was historically included in Ohio Country, which was a French colony from 1663 until 1763. Europeans frequented the area in the 18th century to engage in the fur trade. The region was the site of many battles in which the French, Native Americans and Europeans sought to protect their interests. The Treaty of Paris (1763) allocated the territory to the British territory.

Ohio was included in the Virginia Military District after the American Revolution. However, rather than unoccupied land, colonialists discovered the Shawnee, Miami, Mingo, Wyandot, and Delaware nations, as well as European traders. The tribes engaged the colonialists in conflicts, and it was not until the signing of the Treaty of Greenville that new settlements sprang up. The first settlement was named Franklinton, and Columbus was built opposite this village. State Capital Of Ohio Columbus received its city charter on March 3, 1834, and eventually annexed Franklinton in 1837. The northwest region of Downtown Columbus is situated at the confluence of the Olentangy and Scioto Rivers. Some tributaries cut through the city’s metropolitan area including Darby Creek, Alum Creek, and the Big Walnut Creek.

In 2010, Ohio was ranked No. 2 in the country for best business climate by Site Selection magazine, based on a business-activity database. The state has also won three consecutive Governor’s Cup awards from the magazine, based on business growth and developments. The Ohio State Capital metropolitan area recorded a GDP of $94.7 billion in 2010, which was an improvement from the $90 billion in 2009 and $85.5 billion in 2006. 93.4% of the city’s population in 1900 was white. In recent years, the State Capital Of Ohio Columbus metropolitan area has accommodated increasing communities of Latin-Americans, Africans, and Asians, Mexicans, Somalis, Puerto Ricans, and Indians. As of 2004, Columbus had the country’s second-largest Somali-American and Somali community. 


Counties: Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Pickaway

Settled: February 14, 1812

Named for: Christopher Columbus


  • Mayor: Andrew J. Ginther (D)
  • City Council: Members


  • State Capital City: 223.11 sq mi (577.85 km2)
  • Land: 217.17 sq mi (562.47 km2)
  • Water: 5.94 sq mi (15.38 km2)
TOPICS >   | | Ohio