Time Zone Map of Africa | Time Zones in Africa

Time Zone Map of Africa | Time Zones in Africa

The Time Zone Map of Africa shows the time zone divisions observed on the African continent including outlying islands. The countries of Africa are used one Standard Time throughout the year.

There are a few exceptions: Canary Islands (Spain), Ceuta (Spain), Egypt, Madeira (Portugal), Melilla (Spain), Morocco, and Namibia all observe Daylight Savings Time.

The Time Zone Map of Africa has 4 major time zones, including East Africa Time (EAT, UTC +3), Central Africa Time (CAT, UTC +2), and West Africa Time (WAT, UTC +1), Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Most African countries do not observe daylight saving times.

Africa Time Zones List

Abbreviation Full name Other abbreviations Timezone
CAT Central Africa Time UTC + 2 hours
CET Central European Time MEZ UTC + 1 hour
CVT Cape Verde Time UTC – 1 hour
EAT Eastern Africa Time UTC + 3 hours
EEST Eastern European Summer Time UTC + 3 hours
EET Eastern European Time UTC + 2 hours
GMT Greenwich Mean Time UTC
MUT Mauritius Time UTC + 4 hours
RET Reunion Time UTC + 4 hours
SAST South Africa Standard Time UTC + 2 hours
SCT Seychelles Time UTC + 4 hours
WAST West Africa Summer Time UTC + 2 hours
WAT West Africa Time UTC + 1 hour
WEST Western European Summer Time WESZ UTC + 1 hour
WET Western European Time UTC
WST Western Sahara Summer Time UTC + 1 hour
WT Western Sahara Standard Time UTC

Africa Time Zones Map

Time Zone Countries
UTC+1 Western Sahara
UTC+2 Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Congo-Kinshasa (western part), Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Lesotho, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Togo, Tunisia
UTC+3 Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mayotte, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda
UTC+3:30 Iran (disputed)
UTC+4 Mauritius, Réunion, Seychelles
UTC+5 Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Kerguelen Islands
UTC+6 British Indian Ocean Territory

✅How Many Time Zones in Africa

The six African time zones are Mauritius and Seychelles Time (UTC/GMT+4), East Africa Time (UTC/GMT+3), Central Africa Time (UTC/GMT+2), West Africa Time (UTC/GMT+1), Greenwich Mean Time (UTC/GMT), and Cape Verde Time (UTC-1).

✅What Country Has the Most Time Zones?

France, including its overseas territories, has the most time zones with 12 (13 including its claim in Antarctica). Many countries have daylight saving time, one added hour during the local summer, but this list does not include that information.

Time Zone Map of Africa | Time Zones in Africa. You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.

(UTC/GMT -1) Cape Verde Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +0) Greenwich Mean Time Zone, Western European Time Zone, and Western Sahara Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +1) Central European Time Zone and West Africa Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +2 ) Central Africa Time Zone, Eastern European Time Zone, and South Africa Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +3) East Africa Time Zone. (UTC/GMT +4) Mauritius Time Zone, Reunion Time Zone, and Seychelles Time Zone.

The government of Morocco announced that effective October 27, 2018, the country will observe daylight saving time year-round UTC/GMT + 1h year-round except during Ramadan when the country will observe UTC/GMT + 0h.

The king of Swaziland announced in 2018 that the country has been renamed eSwatini which means "land of the Swazis". This change had no impact on the country's time observance.


Map of Africa | Large Political Map of Africa

Map of Africa | Large Political Map of Africa

Map of Africa | Printable Large Attractive HD Map of Africa

Map of Africa | Printable Large Attractive HD Map of Africa