National Flag Of Kiribati

National Flag Of Kiribati

The National Flag Of Kiribati which has been adopted On July 12, 1979. The flag has been adopted the year when Kiribati gained independence from Great Britain. The design of the Flag Of Kiribati is based on the coat of arms, by which the islands were awarded in 1937 along with former Ellice Islands, currently Tuvalu.

In anticipation of independence from Great Britain, a referendum was held and in 1976, the two territories were separated. The former Gilbert Islands were proclaimed the independent Republic of Kiribati, the name is simply the local spelling and pronunciation of “Gilberts.” After gaining independence, the Kiribati National Flag was adopted.


Design And Meaning Of The Flag

The Flag Of Kiribati is consists of six ripples in blue and white colors, yellow sun and flying frigate. All this is placed on a red sheet. The design of the flag was created by Sir Arthur Grimble in 1932. The upper half of the flag is red with a yellow frigate bird flying over a yellow rising sun, and the lower half is blue with three horizontal wavy white stripes to represent the Pacific ocean.

The white stripes on the National Flag Of Kiribati represent the three island groups – the Gilbert, Line, and Phoenix Islands. The 17 rays of the sun of the Kiribati National Flag represent the 16 Gilbert Islands and Banaba (formerly Ocean Island); the frigate bird symbolizes authority and freedom.


Some Information About Flag:

In Which Year, The National Flag is Adopted?
Ans: On July 12, 1979

What Are The Colours of The Flag?
Ans: Red, Blue, Yellow, White

Who Is The Designer of The Flag?
Ans: Sir Arthur Grimble

TOPICS >   | | Kiribati