National Flag Of Nauru

National Flag Of Nauru

The National Flag Of Nauru Was Officially Adapted On 31 January 1968 When it became independent. The new Flag Of Nauru design was chosen in a local competition and put in the final graphic form by an Australian flag manufacturer, makes a clear statement about the island. The Nauru National Flag has a dark blue field that is horizontally bisected by a thin stripe of yellow. A white star with twelve points is placed under the stripe near the flag’s hoist. The blue color field of the flag stands for the Pacific Ocean And the star indicates the country’s location in relation to the Equator (the gold stripe).

The star on the National Flag Of Nauru has been a symbol of independence and sovereignty since the United States adopted the Stars and Stripes as its flag in 1777. The 12 points on the star symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru: Eamwit, Eamwitmwit, Ranibok, Irutsi, Iruwa, Eamwidara, Eaoru, Emangum, Deiboe, Eano, Emea, Iwi. The star’s white color represents the phosphate which was a major natural resource of the island nation.


History Of The Flag

Nauru did not have any national flag until the colonial period when it became part of the German Empire. The German government did not give a specific colonial flag to Nauru, so the island represented itself with the German flag. Nauru became independent from Germany in the aftermath of the first world war, at which point it became a League of Nations mandate territory under British administration. It used the British flag as the Flag Of Nauru from 1919 until 1948.


Some Information About Flag:

In Which Year, The National Flag Is Adopted?
Ans: On 31 January 1968

What Are The Colours of The Flag?
Ans: Blue, Yellow, White

What Do The Colours of The Flag Means?
Ans: The blue color field of the flag stands for the Pacific Ocean. The gold color representing the Equator runs across a blue field for the Pacific Ocean.

TOPICS >   | | Nauru