Administrative Map of India | Detailed Indian Administrative Map

India is a large country comprising 28 states and 7 union territories. These states and the union territories are divided into districts. At the time of the Census 2001, there were in all 593 districts against 467 districts at the time of the 1991 Census.

India is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary form of government which is federal in structure with unitary features. There is a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as its head to advise the President who is the constitutional head of the country.

Similarly, in states, there is a Council of Ministers with the Chief Minister as its head, who advises the Governor. This section provides insight into Indian governance and administration at the Central, state as well as local levels. Information about the Constitution of India, Parliament and Legislature, Union administration, state, district, and local administration is given.

Administrative Structure of India

The legislative and controlling division and running of any country is a complex and vital aspect of its governance if it is to be effective and to the advantage of its citizens. India’s Administrative Divisions are sub-national and are made up of villages, municipalities, blocks, clusters of villages, and so on. Some cultures refer to the same concept by different names.

States And Administrative Capitals



Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
Assam Dispur
Bihar Patna
Chhattisgarh Raipur
Goa Panaji
Gujarat Gandhinagar
Haryana Chandigarh
Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jharkhand Ranchi
Karnataka Bengaluru
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
Maharashtra Mumbai
Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya Shillong
Mizoram Aizawl
Nagaland Kohima
Orissa Bhubaneswar
Punjab Chandigarh
Rajasthan Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Chennai
Tripura Agartala
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
Uttaranchal Dehradun
West Bengal Kolkata


Exit mobile version