What Is The National Government Type of of El Salvador?

The Government of El Salvador is a Presidential Representative democratic republic. The seat of the federal Government is in San Salvador. The Salvadoran legislature is a unicameral body.

It is made up of 84 deputies, all of who are elected by direct popular vote according to open-list proportional representation to serve three-year terms and are eligible for immediate re-election.

Of these, 64 are elected in 14 multi-seat constituencies, corresponding to the country’s 14 departments, which return between 3 and 16 deputies each. The remaining 20 deputies are selected on the basis of a single national constituency.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *