National Flag Of Malaysia

National Flag Of Malaysia

The Name of the National Flag Of Malaysia is “Jalur Gemilang” Meaning ‘Stripes of Excellence (or Glory)’. The flag was named in 1997 by the Prime Minister Dr. Mahathir bin Mohammad, who declared the name as representing Malaysia’s goal to strive for progress and success. The Current 14-Point Star And 14 stripes Version Was Officially Adopted On 16 September 1963. The Original Malayan flag was first raised on 26 May 1950 And had only 11 stripes and An 11 pointed star.

Before The Creation of the Flag Of Malaysia, each state in Malaysia had its own flag, many of which are unchanged in design till date. When the Federation of Malaya replaced the short-lived Malayan Union, the federation government called for a design contest for the creation of a new Malaysia National Flag. Three flags were forwarded to the public for choosing the Flag Of Malaysia.

The third design, by Mohamad Hamzah of the Public Works Department, was declared as the winner through a public poll that was held by The Malay Mail. After the formation of Malaysia on 16th September 1963, the design of the National Flag Of Malaysia was modified to reflect and honor the new states in the federation.


Design And Meaning Of The Flag

The Malaysian National Flag is a combination of traditional Islamic symbols and the representation of all the states under the federation. The blue canton contains a 14 point star called Bintang Persekutuan, or Federal Star. The 14 stripes and 14 points of the star on the National Flag Of Malaysia represent the equal status of the 14 member states, namely Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Pulau Pinang, Perak, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu in the Federal Government.

The crescent represents Islam as the official religion. The color red on the Flag Of Malaysia signifies strength, bravery, and courage in facing challenges. The color white stands for honesty and integrity. The dark blue canton on the Malaysia National Flag represents the unity and harmony of the peoples of Malaysia. The yellow color of the crescent and star is the royal color of the Rulers.


Some Information About Flag:

In Which Year, The National Flag Is Adopted?
Ans: On 16 September 1963 (Current Version)

What Are The Colours of The Flag?
Ans: Red, White, Yellow, Blue

What Do The Crescent of The Flag Means?
Ans: The crescent represents Islam as the official religion.

Who Is The Designer of The Flag?
Ans: Mohamed Hamzah

TOPICS >   | | Malaysia