Administrative Map of France | Large Administrative Division Map

Administrative Map of France | Large Administrative Division Map

France is the largest country located in North-Western Europe. With an area of 551,500 km², the Political Map of France is more than twice the size of the United Kingdom. The Administrative Map of France is divided into regions and subdivided into departments and then arrondissements, cantons, and communes. France is divided into 18 regions, out of which 13 are on continental France.

The 18 administrative regions are subdivided into 101 departments. Out of these 101 departments, 96 departments are located in Metropolitan France and five departments are located overseas and are referred to as overseas departments. The departments are further subdivided into 335 arrondissements. These arrondissements are further divided into a total of 2,504 cantons. The cantons are also divided into a total of 36,658 communes.

The 13 Regions

Region Capital Area (km2) Population
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes(Auvergne-Rhône-Alps) Lyon 69,711 7,916,889
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté(Burgundy-Free County) Dijon 47,784 2,818,338
Bretagne(Brittany) Rennes 27,208 3,306,529
Centre-Val de Loire[4](Centre-Loire Valley) Orléans 39,151 2,577,866
Corse(Corsica) Ajaccio 8,680 330,455
Grand Est(Great East) Strasbourg 57,441 5,555,186
Hauts-de-France(Upper France) Lille 31,806 6,006,870
Île-de-France(Island of France) Paris 12,011 12,117,132
Normandie(Normandy) Rouen 29,907 3,335,929
Nouvelle-Aquitaine(New Aquitaine) Bordeaux 84,036 5,935,603
Occitanie(Occitania) Toulouse 72,724 5,808,435
Pays de la Loire(Loire Countries) Nantes 32,082 3,737,632
Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur(Provence-Alps-Azure Coast) Marseille 31,400 5,021,928

Administrative Map of France | Large Administrative Division Map is the Map of France . You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.