Political Map of France | France Border Map

France is the largest country located in North-Western Europe. With an area of 551,500 km², the Political Map of France is more than twice the size of the United Kingdom. The Country has a population of 67 million people (est. 2020); 64.8 million people in Metropolitan France and 2.2 million in its overseas regions. The largest city and the capital of France are Paris. It is a major administrative, cultural and commercial center of the country.

The Political Map of France is divided into regions and subdivided into departments and then arrondissements, cantons, and communes. France is divided into 18 regions, out of which 13 are on continental France.

Administrative Regions of France

The region constitutes the first level of division of France. Before the French Revolution of 1789, France was divided into provinces from the historical feudal history. During the revolution, these provinces were abolished and the French territory was divided into 83 departments. On 5 April 1919, the first ministerial decree establishes the first regional grouping called “regions Clémentel”.

The 13 Regions

Region Capital Area (km2) Population
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes(Auvergne-Rhône-Alps) Lyon 69,711 7,916,889
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté(Burgundy-Free County) Dijon 47,784 2,818,338
Bretagne(Brittany) Rennes 27,208 3,306,529
Centre-Val de Loire[4](Centre-Loire Valley) Orléans 39,151 2,577,866
Corse(Corsica) Ajaccio 8,680 330,455
Grand Est(Great East) Strasbourg 57,441 5,555,186
Hauts-de-France(Upper France) Lille 31,806 6,006,870
Île-de-France(Island of France) Paris 12,011 12,117,132
Normandie(Normandy) Rouen 29,907 3,335,929
Nouvelle-Aquitaine(New Aquitaine) Bordeaux 84,036 5,935,603
Occitanie(Occitania) Toulouse 72,724 5,808,435
Pays de la Loire(Loire Countries) Nantes 32,082 3,737,632
Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur(Provence-Alps-Azure Coast) Marseille 31,400 5,021,928

Overseas Regions of France

Region Capital Area (km2) Population
Guadeloupe Basse-Terre 1,628 394,110
Guyane(French Guiana) Cayenne 83,534 269,352
La Réunion(Réunion) Saint-Denis 2,504 852,924
Martinique Fort-de-France 1,128 376,480
Mayotte Mamoudzou 374 256,518

The 18 administrative regions are subdivided into 101 departments. Out of these 101 departments, 96 departments are located in Metropolitan France and five departments are located overseas and are referred to as overseas departments. The departments are further subdivided into 335 arrondissements. These arrondissements are further divided into a total of 2,504 cantons. The cantons are also divided into a total of 36,658 communes.

Border Map of France

The borders of France are the international borders that the French Republic shares with neighboring sovereign states. France has land borders with eleven countries. On its eastern border, its neighbors include Belgium (652-659 km), Luxembourg (73 km), Germany (448 km), Switzerland (573 km), Italy (515 km), and the principality of Monaco (4kms). On its southern border, it lies next to Spain (623kms) and the Pyrenean mini-state of Andorra (57kms).

France borders Belgium and Luxembourg in the northeast, Germany, Switzerland, and Italy in the east, the Mediterranean Sea, Monaco, Spain, and Andorra in the south. France also shares maritime borders with the United Kingdom.

Political Map of France | France Border Map is the Map of France . You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.