What Is The National Capital of Brazil?

What Is The National Capital of Brazil?

The Current Capital of Brazil is Brasília. The city of Salvador is usually called the “First capital of Brazil” for being more than two centuries the seat for the Portuguese colonial administration in Brazil (general government and viceroyalty).

In the 1950s plans were considered for moving the federal capital from the east coast to the interior; the interior was sparsely populated and it was hoped that moving the capital to the region would help populate the area.

The new capital, Brasília, was inaugurated as the federal capital on 21 April 1960 after being purpose built at a great cost of 2 trillion U.S. dollars.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *