What is the National Mythical Animal of China?

What is the National Mythical Animal of China?

Chinese Dragon is the Unofficial National Mythical Animal of China. It is a very famous symbol of China and frequently shows up in popular Chinese culture all around the world. The Chinese dragon is a symbol of wealth, power, and leadership. The People of China Believed That it is so special to be born in the year of the dragon. It is interesting that Chinese people frequently refer to themselves as being progenies of dragons. The dragons’ goodwill signifies goodness, greatness, and blessings.

Chinese Dragon

The Chinese tradition comprises four divine creatures: the dragon, unicorn, tortoise, and Phoenix. Chinese dragons are very gracious creatures. They are believed to be the ruler of the seas, lakes, and rivers. They bring rain to the earth and allows the crops to grow. Chinese dragons invented totems from different tribes and developed into mythical animals. Long dragons are thought to have nine anatomical resemblances: the horns of a stag, head of a camel, eyes of a demon, neck of a snake, the belly of a clam, scales of a carp, claws of an eagle, soles of a tiger, ears of a cow, and a lump on top of the head called a Chimu, which it cannot fly without.

The dragons are thought to have exactly 117 scales. Of these scales, 81 are positive, or yang, and 36 are negative, or yin. The Buddhists believed that disasters such as tidal waves, floods, and harsh storms were a direct result of people upsetting the dragons.

Types of Chinese Dragon

  • Bixi (bee-sshee) — eldest, turtle-shaped with sharp teeth, fond of carrying heavy objects; often on graves/monuments
  • Qiuniu (chyoh-nyoh) — yellow scaly dragon, likes and excels in music; often adorns musical instruments
  • Yazi (yaa-dzrr) — snake belly and leopard head, keen on fighting/killing; often decorates sword grips
  • Chaofeng (chaoww-fnng) — instinctively adventurous; often adorns palace roof ridges
  • Pulao (poo-laoww) — known for loud crying; often on bell handles
  • Chiwen (chrr-wnn) — lives in the sea, harsh-voiced, delights in devouring creatures; often on palace ridgepole ends
  • Bi’an (bee-an) — likes lawsuits, often stands by jail gates
  • Suanni (swann-nee/) — lion-shaped, delights in sitting cross-legged and smelling incensed; often on Buddhist temple incense burners and seats
  • Fuxi (foo-sshee/) — most Chinese dragon-like; often on stone tablets

Facts About Chinese Dragon

  • Chinese dragons don’t exist factually — there is no evidence to prove that they are real creatures.
  • The Dragon is one of the twelve Chinese zodiac signs.
  • Chinese dragons live at the bottom of seas, rivers, lakes, or anywhere with water.
  • The dragon is worshiped as a holy creature in some traditional Chinese religions.
  • Chinese dragons do not spitfire but can summon rain.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *