National Languages of China | Symbols of China

National Languages of China | Symbols of China

China is the largest country in Asia. It has a total area of 9,596,961 square kilometers or 3,705,407 square miles. The country features a variety of languages spoken in China. Mandarin Chinese is The official National language of China. It is based on the dialect of the Han ethnic group from the North. The predominant language is sometimes called Hanyu. Mandarin is the world’s most spoken language with 1.5 billion speakers.

As of the latest data from Ethnologue, China has 302 individual living languages, 276 of which are indigenous. The United Nations celebrates April 20 as Chinese Language Day, which is part of the organization’s effort to promote its six official languages as well as celebrate linguistic and cultural diversity.

Mandarin Chinese is the official language of China and it’s based on the dialect of the Han ethnic group from the North. There are seven primary language groups or varieties in the Han language that are so different they aren’t mutually intelligible much like German and English. The languages most frequently supported and studied include Chinese Mongolian Tibetan Uyghur Zhuang.

Languages Spoken in Areas

Official North China Beijing, Tianjin, Hebei Province, Henan Province, Shandong Province, Liaoning Province, Jilin Province, Heilongjiang Province, Part of Inner Mongolia
Northwest China Shanxi Province, Shaanxi Province, Gansu Province, Part of Qinghai Province, Ningxia Province, and Inner Mongolia
Southwest China Most areas of Hubei Province (southeastern and eastern parts excluded ), Yunnan Province, Guizhou Province, Sichuan Province, north sides of Hunan Province, and Guangxi Province
Yangtze-HuaiRiver Areas along the northern and southern banks of Yangtze River in Anhui Province, Northern areas of Yangtze River in Jiangsu Province (Huizhou excluded), Southern areas of Yangtze River (northernmost to Nanjing and southernmost to Zhenjiang)
Non-official Wu The southern part of Jiangsu Province; Zhejiang Province
Gan Jiangxi province
Xiang Hunan province; the northern part of Guangxi Province
Yue Guangdong province; Southeast part of Guangxi Province
Min Fujian province; Taiwan Province; Guangdong Province (Chaozhou, Shantou), Hainan Province
Hakka Eastern and northern part of Guangdong Province; Western part of Fujian Province; Southern part of Jiangxi Province; Taiwan Province

Other Languages of China

  1. Wu
    On the coastal area in Shanghai, Wu is the Chinese dialect spoken. In 2017, there were 81.4 million speakers of the Wu language in China. All over the world, the total number of Wu speakers is 81.5 million.
  2. Yue
    Yue is a dialect that is not mutually intelligible with the other Chinese dialects. It comes second after Mandarin in terms of use. There are about 62 million speakers of Yue in China.
  3. Xiang
    In Southern China’s Hunan province, the dominant dialect is Xiang.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *