Administrative Map of Luxembourg | Detailed Luxembourg Administration

Administrative Map of Luxembourg | Detailed Luxembourg Administration

Luxembourg is one of the smallest countries that is located in Western Europe. Luxembourg is an entirely landlocked nation and shares a border with Belgium to the west and north, Germany to the east, and France to the south. The people living in this nation are less than 0.5 million. Luxembourg is developed around its capital city of the same name.

Luxembourg has covered an area of 2,586 sq km (998 sq mi), with a length of 82 km (51 mi) N-S and a width of 57 km (35 mi) E-W. Comparatively, the area occupied by Luxembourg is slightly smaller than the U.S. State of Rhode Island. Moselle River is the lowest point of the country flowing 133 meters above sea level while Buurgplaatz is the highest point situated at 559 meters.


The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is divided into 3 Districts:

  1.  Diekirch District
  2.  Grevenmacher District
  3.  Luxembourg District

Those three districts of Luxembourg were the top-level administrative divisions of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Administrative Map of Luxembourg | Detailed Luxembourg Administration is the Map of Luxembourg . You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.

The districts were further subdivided into cantons, which still exist:

1. Capellen 2. Clervaux 3. Diekirch 4. Echternach 5. Esch-sur-Alzette 6. Grevenmacher 7. Luxembourg 8. Mersch 9. Redange 10. Remich 11 Vianden 12 Wiltz

The 12 cantons of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are areas of local government at the first level of local administrative units. The cantons are subdivided into 106 communes - Gemengen. 12 communes out of 106 communes have city status.

The communes of Luxembourg are lower nation-wide administrative divisions and come below cantons. Communes are often re-arranged, merged, or divided but the cantons have remained unchanged since their creation. On the other side, all communes provide local government services.

The communes have no legislative power over matters relating to the national interest. They are required to provide public education, maintain the local road network, maintain basic public health, and provide social security.