Political Map of Luxembourg | Political Border Map

Political Map of Luxembourg | Political Border Map

Luxembourg is a small landlocked country in western Europe. The Country has a population of under half a million people in an area of about 2,600 square kilometers (997 sq mi). Luxembourg lies in the cultural divide between Romance Europe and Germanic Europe. The Country borrowing customs from each of the distinct traditions.

While French and Luxembourgish are the predominant languages in daily life and on the streets, Luxembourg remains a trilingual country; French, German, and Luxembourgish are official languages. Although a secular state, Luxembourg is predominantly Roman Catholic.


Political Profile:

Short name   Luxembourg
Official name Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
Status Independent country since 1816 (until 1890 in personal union with the Netherlands), member of the ► European Union since 1957
Location Western Europe
Capital Lëtzebuerg (Luxembourg)



Population 626,108 inhabitants
Area 2,586 km²
Major languages Luxembourgish, French, German (all official)
Major religions Roman Catholicism

Political Map of Luxembourg | Political Border Map is the Map of Luxembourg . You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.



Luxembourg shares international borders with Belgium to the west and north, Germany to the east, and France to the south. Luxembourg's geography offers two principal regions: the Oesling, part of the Ardennes massif, a hilly region with large deciduous forests in the north, and the Gutland ("good country"), the relatively urbanized region in the south.

Government Type

Luxembourg is a parliamentary representative democratic monarchy. Here, the Prime Minister of Luxembourg is the head of the government. The executive power is vested in the Council of Government (comprising of the Prime Minister and the other ministers) and the Grand Duke. The Chamber of Deputies constitutes the legislative wing of the government. The judiciary is separate and works independently of the other two branches of the government.

Capital Of Luxembourg

Luxembourg City serves as the capital of Luxembourg. It is also the most populous commune of the country. The city has an area of 51.46 square km and a population of around 107,247 individuals. The population density of Luxembourg City is 2,100 persons per square km. The elevation of the city varies from 750 feet to 1,319 feet.