Political Map of Australia | Detailed Border Map of Australia

Political Map of Australia | Detailed Border Map of Australia

Australia is the largest island and smallest continent in the world. This immense island located between the Pacific and Indian oceans is one of the most interesting countries in the world. With an area of 7,692,024 km², Australia is the 6th largest country in the world. The Political Map of Australia has no land borders. The country shares maritime borders with East Timor, Indonesia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and the islands of New Caledonia (a special collectivity of France).

Fast Fact About Australia

  • Name: Commonwealth of Australia
  • Government: Democracy
  • Population: About 25.5 million (2021)
  • Capital: Canberra with 462,000 people (2021)
  • Language: English
  • Currency: 1 Australian dollar ($) = 100 cents
  • Religion: mainly Christians
  • Timezones: 3
  • National Symbols: Golden wattle (flower), opal (gemstone), green and gold (colors), and the Commonwealth Star (a seven-pointed star)
  • National Anthem: Advance Australia Fai

Political Border of Australia

Australia is the smallest continent and the largest country in Oceania. It is located between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean in the Southern hemisphere. Australia is completely surrounded by the Indian and Pacific Oceans and a series of bays, gulfs, seas, and straits and is situated to the south of Maritime Southeast Asia and to the north of the Antarctic.

Australia is separated from Indonesia to the northwest by the Timor and Arafura seas, from Papua New Guinea to the northeast by the Coral Sea and the Torres Strait, from the Coral Sea Islands Territory by the Great Barrier Reef, from New Zealand to the southeast by the Tasman Sea, and from Antarctica in the far south by the Indian Ocean.

Administrative Division of Australia

Australia is divided into six states and three internal territories, as well as other various external territories off the mainland, which includes six island territories and the Australian Antarctic Territory. The capital city of Australia is Canberra. Some other important cities include Sydney (which is the largest city in the country), Melbourne, Brisbane, Darwin, Perth, Adelaide, and Hobart.

States of Australia

States/Territories Population Area(km.²) Capital
Australian Capital Territory 323,665 2,365 Canberra
New South Wales 6,549,177 801,425 Sydney
Queensland 3,904,532 1,736,587 Brisbane
South Australia 1,514,337 984,377 Adelaide
Tasmania 476,481 68,127 Hobart
Victoria 4,932,422 227,619 Melbourne
Western Australia 1,959,088 2,527,621 Perth

The most populous of Australia’s states are New South Wales, with a population of over seven million people. Western Australia is the largest of Australia’s states by area, covering 2,645,615 square kilometers (1,021,478 square miles), and the western third of the country.

Territories of Australia

Several outlying islands belong to Australia, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, the Coral Sea Islands, the Heard and McDonald Islands, and Norfolk Island. Adjacent to the continent’s southeastern coast lies the mountainous island of Tasmania, separated from the mainland by the Bass Strait.

Political Map of Australia | Detailed Border Map of Australia is the Map of Australia . You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.