States Map of Australia | Australian Territories Map

States Map of Australia | Australian Territories Map

Australia is a country, an island, and a continent. It is the world’s smallest continent and the sixth-largest country. It is located in the Southern Hemisphere, between the Indian Ocean and the Southern Pacific Ocean. States Map of Australia has a number of political divisions that include New South Wales, Queensland, Northern Territory, Western Australia, South Australia, Victoria, the Australian Capital Territory, and Tasmania.

The states of Australia are self-administered regions with their own constitutions, legislature, police services, departments, and certain civil authorities. The state government delivers most services, public policies, and programs. Territories administer local policies and programs much like states but are constitutionally and financially subordinate to the federal government.

Australia has six states. These are South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland, and Tasmania, which is located on an island just off the southern coast of Australia. These six are the federated states of Australia and are under the direct rule of the Queen.

Australia’s States And Territories

Place Capital City Largest City Population (as of 2003) Area Highest point
Australia Canberra Sydney 19,973,170 2,966,136 sq. miles
7,682,300 sq. km.
Mt. Kosciuszko
7,310 ft.
2,228 m.
Australian Capital Territory Canberra Canberra 322,900 2,358 sq. km. Bimberi Peak
1,912 m
New South Wales Sydney Sydney 6,686,600 309,498 sq. m.
801,60 sq. km.
Mt. Kosciuszko
7,310 ft.
2,228 m.
Victoria Melbourne Melbourne 4,917,400 87,876 sq. mi.
227,600 sq. km.
Mt. Bogong
6,508 ft.
1,984 m.
Queensland Brisbane Brisbane 3,796,800 666,872 sq. mi.
1,727,200 sq. km.
Mt. Bartle Frere
5,287 ft.
1,611 m.
South Australia Adelaide Adelaide 1,527,400 379,922sq. mi.
984,000 sq. km.
Mt. Woodroffe
4,970 ft.
Western Australia Perth Perth 1,952,300 975,096 sq. mi.
2,525,500 sq. km.
Mt. Bruce
4,024 ft.
1,227 m.
Tasmania Hobart Hobart 477,100 26,178 sq. mi.
67,800 sq. km.
Mt. Ossa
5,305 ft.
1,617 m.
Northern Territory
The “Australian Outback”
Darwin Darwin 198,400 519,768 sq. mi.
1,346,200 sq km.
Mt. Ziel
4,955 ft.
1,510 m.

The most populous of Australia’s states are New South Wales, with a population of over seven million people. Western Australia is the largest of Australia’s states by area, covering 2,645,615 square kilometers (1,021,478 square miles), and the western third of the country.

Several outlying islands belong to Australia, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, the Coral Sea Islands, the Heard and McDonald Islands, and Norfolk Island. Adjacent to the continent’s southeastern coast lies the mountainous island of Tasmania, separated from the mainland by the Bass Strait.

States Map of Australia | Australian Territories Map is the Map of Australia . You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.