What Is The National Map of England?

What Is The National Map of England?

“England is a country that forms part of the United Kingdom. The total area covered by the country is 50,346 square miles. England is bordered by scotland to the north; Wales to the west; the Irish Sea to the north-west, the Celtic Sea to the south-west, the North Sea to the east and the English Channel to the south” (Maps of world, 2015).

The Country of England is administratively divided into a total of 9 regions, 48 ceremonial counties, 6 metropolitan counties, 24 non-metropolitan counties, 309 districts (including 36 metropolitan boroughs, 32 London boroughs, 181 non-metropolitan districts, 58 unitary authorities, and 2 sui generis), and about 4,500 civil parishes.

Some of the major rivers in England include the Thames, Trent, Severn, Eden, Mersey, Tyne, Tweed, Swale, Welland, Great Ouse, etc. With an area of 16 sq. km, Lake Windermere is the largest lake in England.


Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.