Political Map of China | China Border Map

Political Map of China | China Border Map

China is one of the Political superpowers of the world. It is also the most populated and the fourth largest country in the world in terms of area as shown on the China Map. China’s land area is 9,326,410 square kilometers. The population of China is 1.44 billion people in 2020. The Political Map of China includes international boundaries and provincial capitals. It also shows China’s largest cities and the surrounding countries and their major cities bordering China.

Political Map of China takes up most of East Asia with its enormous expanse of land bordering Russia and Mongolia in the north, Korea in the east, Vietnam, Myanmar, India, Laos, Nepal, and Bhutan in the south, and Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan in the west. The official language is Mandarin Chinese. Beijing is officially China’s capital Shanghai is the largest city of the colorful country which is also located in the China Political Map.

China Fast Facts

Name People’s Republic of China
Continent Asia
Capital Beijing
Area 9,596,961 square kilometers
Population 1.39 billion (2018)
Form of Government Single-party state (Communist Party)
National Day October 1, 1949 (PRC founded)
Head of State President Xi Jinping, Vice President Li Yuanchao
Head of Government Premier Li Keqiang
Currency Renminbi
GDP US$13.61 trillion (2018)
Major languages Standard Chinese/Mandarin, Yue, Wu
Major religions Daoism, Buddhism

Administrative Divisions

The People’s Republic of China is divided into 33 administrative regions, there are 22 provinces, five autonomous regions, four municipalities, and two special administrative regions (SAR). 22 of the provinces are controlled by the People’s Republic of China (PRC) as seen in the China Map. The 23rd province, Taiwan, though claimed by the PRC, is not controlled by the PRC and is thus a de facto.


Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai, and Tianjin.

Autonomous Regions:

Guangxi (Nanning), (Inner Mongolia, capital: Hohhot), Ningxia (Yinchuan), Xizang (Tibet, capital: Lhasa), Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region (Ürümqi)

Special Administrative Regions:

Hong Kong, and Macau


Anhui (Hefei), Fujian (Fuzhou), Gansu (Lanzhou), Guangdong (Guangzhou), Guizhou (Guiyang), Hainan (Haikou), Hebei (Shijiazhuang), Heilongjiang (Harbin), Henan (Zhengzhou), Hubei (Wuhan), Hunan (Changsha), Jiangsu (Nanjing), Jiangxi (Nanchang), Jilin (Changchun), Liaoning (Shenyang), Qinghai (Xining), Shaanxi (Xi’an), Shandong (Jinan), Shangxi (Taiyuan), Sichuan (Chengdu), Yunnan (Kunming), Zhejiang (Hangzhou)

China Border Map

The People’s Republic of China shares borders with 14 countries: Afghanistan, Bhutan, India, Kazakhstan, North Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Mongolia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Vietnam. The country shares maritime borders with Japan, South Korea, the Philippines, and Taiwan. Due to China’s claims in the South China Sea, the state also maintains maritime borders that overlap with those of Brunei and Malaysia.

In order of shared border length, these are:

  • Mongolia (4,630km)
  • Russia (Northeast – 4,133km) and (Northwest – 46km)
  • India (2,659km)
  • Myanmar (2,129km)
  • Kazakhstan (1,352km)
  • Nepal (1,389km)
  • North Korea (1,352km)
  • Vietnam (1,297km)
  • Kyrgyzstan (1,063km)
  • Tajikistan (477km)
  • Bhutan (477km)
  • Laos (475km)
  • Pakistan (438km)
  • Afghanistan (91km).

Political Map of China | China Border Map is the Map of China . You can also free download Map images HD Wallpapers for use desktop and laptop.