Honours System Of India | Symbols of India

Honours System Of India | Symbols of India

The Indian Honours System is the System of Awards Given to Individuals Civilian for a Variety of Services For The Country. The Indian honor system is broadly classified into four types: Leadership, Civilian, Particular, Patriotic.

  • The Leadership Award: Gandhi Peace Prize. etc
  • The Civilian Awards: the Bharat Ratna & the Padma awards -Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan in increasing order.
  • The Particular Awards: National Sports Awards, National Film Awards, Police Awards, etc.
  • The Patriotic Awards: wartime gallantry awards & peacetime gallantry awards.

The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in the country. Any person without distinction of race, occupation, position, gender, or religion is eligible for this award. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service or performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavor. The number of annual awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year.

Padma Awards were instituted in the year 1954. Except for brief interruptions during the years 1977 to 1980 and 1993 to 1997, these awards have been announced every year on Republic Day. Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri, in the decreasing order of importance.

  • Padma Vibhushan is awarded for “exceptional and distinguished service”. It is the second-highest civilian award in India.
  • Padma Bhushan for “distinguished service of a high order”. It is the third-highest civilian award in India.
  • Padma Shri¬†for “distinguished service”. Padma Shri is the fourth-highest civilian award in India.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *