National Parks of India | Symbols of India

National Parks of India | Symbols of India

National Park is an area that is strictly reserved for the protection and betterment of wildlife and biodiversity. It also includes the activities like developmental, forestry, poaching, hunting, and grazing on cultivation that are not permitted. In India areas secured under Act 35(A) under the Wild Life Protection Act, 1972 are called National Parks. There are 105 National Parks of India. It has the third-highest number of national parks in Asia after China and Thailand.

National Parks in India: Facts

Largest National Park of India: Hemis National Park, Ladakh

Smallest National Park: South Button Island National Park, Andaman, and Nicobar Island

First Marine National Park: Gulf of Kutchh National Park

Floating National Park: Keibul Lamjao National Park, Manipur

Total number of National Parks: 105

The country’s first national park (now known as Jim Corbett National Park) was created in 1936. Up until 1970, there were only five national parks in India. By 1970, India only had five national parks. In 1972, India enacted the Wildlife Protection Act and Project Tiger to safeguard the habitats of conservation reliant species. The list of Top 30 National Parks in India:

  1. Kaziranga National Park, Assam
  2. Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand
  3. Kanha National Park, Madhya Pradesh
  4. Periyar National Park, Kerala
  5. Nagarhole National Park, Karnataka
  6. Gir Forest National Park, Gujarat
  7. Sundarban National Park, West Bengal
  8. Pench National Park, Madhya Pradesh
  9. Bandipur National Park, Karnataka
  10. Manas National Park, Assam
  11. Ranthambore National Park, Rajasthan
  12. Great Himalayan National Park, Kullu
  13. Satpura National Park, Madhya Pradesh
  14. Eravikulam National Park
  15. Sariska National Park
  1. Bandhavgarh National Park
  2. Dudhwa National Park, Uttara Pradesh
  3. Panna National Park, Madhya Pradesh
  4. Sanjay Gandhi National Park, Mumbai
  5. Nameri National Park, Assam
  6. Rajaji National Park, Uttarakhand
  7. Keoladeo National Park, Rajasthan
  8. Orang National Park, Assam
  9. Gorumara National Park, West Bengal
  10. Simlipal National Park, Odisha
  11. Dachigam National Park, Srinagar
  12. Jaldapara National Park, West Bengal
  13. Mahatma Gandhi Marine National Park (Wandoor National Park)
  14. Khangchendzonga National Park, Sikkim
  15. Pin Valley National Park, Himachal Pradesh


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *