National Calendar of India | Symbols of India

National Calendar of India | Symbols of India

Saka Calendar is the official National Calendar of India. It is used alongside the Gregorian calendar by the Gazette of India, All India Radio, and the Government of India. The Calendar was introduced by the calendar committee of India in 1957. And started officially using In 1 Chaitra 1879 Saka Era, or 22 March 1957. The Saka Calendar is based on the lunisolar reckoning of time.

The calendar consists of 365 days and 12 months. Chaitra is the first month of the year beginning on March 22 which is the day after the Spring Equinox. During leap years, the starting day of Chaitra corresponds with March 21.

  • Name: Saka Calender
  • Introduced in: 79 CE
  • Adopted in: 1957
  • Starts on: March 22
  • Number of days: 365
  • Number of months: 12
  • Basis of Calender: Luni-solar
  • Perused by: Gazette of India, All India Radio News Broadcast, Government of India

The Names of the Months in the Saka Calendar are: 

  • Chhaitra (March 21 – April 20)
  • Vaishakha (April 21-May 21)
  • Jyeshtha (May 22-June 21)
  • Ashadha (June 22- July 22)
  • Shravana (July 23-August 22)
  • Bhaadra (August 22-September 22)
  • Ashwin (September 23-October 22)
  • Kartika (October 23-November 21)
  • Agrahayana (November 22-December 21)
  • Pausha (December 22-January 20)
  • Magha (January 21- February 19) and
  • Phalguna (February 20-March 20/21)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.